.
Mango and Peppercorns | Katherine Manning, Tung Nguyen, Lyn Nguyen

Mango and Peppercorns | Katherine Manning, Tung Nguyen, Lyn Nguyen

£19.00

A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami. Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature. In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country. Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts—a harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce.

• IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: an inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.
• TIMELY TOPIC: this real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's long standing tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.
• INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: this book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes.
Perfect for: fans of culinary nonfiction, fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen, home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking

Read more...

Next Day UK Delivery

Available on this item

Our Standard Delivery for UK orders under £75 is £4.95 and FREE for orders of £75 or more*. Your order will be delivered within 2-3 working days.

*This excludes Specialised & Oversized Items.

Oversized Homeware Delivery
is £49.95. Your order will be delivered within 5-7 working days.

Our Next Working Day Delivery is £7.95 for all order values. In order to receive your order the next working day (Mon to Fri) you have to order by 3pm on the day of order. Orders placed after 3pm on Friday will be dispatched on Monday. Specialised and oversized homeware items are not available for next day delivery. Some special UK postcodes fall out with this service and will arrive automatically within two working days. For a full list of special UK postcodes, please refer to our Delivery Information.

Our Saturday & Sunday Delivery is £9.95. In order to receive your order on Saturday or Sunday you have to order by 3pm on Friday. Specialised and oversized items are not available for weekend delivery. We are unable to offer our Saturday & Sunday delivery service to some remote UK postcodes. For a full list of special UK postcodes, please refer to our Delivery Information.

Our UK Nominated Day Delivery is £9.95. Your order will be dispatched to arrive on a nominated date. You can select a day (Mon to Fri) up to 2 weeks after placing your order. Specialised and oversized items are not available for weekend delivery.

For more information, including International Shipping options, please refer to our Delivery Information.

Pay quickly, safely and securely via Shopify Payments. We accept all major credit cards including American Express, Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayPal and Klarna.

In stock

9781797202242

9781797202242